Chapter 6 Marathon 2000 – Wheelchair Marathoners Astonish and Inspire Andy

ar9

A week after the 2000 Boston Marathon, we met with the Martins, and Andy’s father told me a story about something that had happened on the day of the race, an event that would have a permanent impact on Andy’s perspective on life, in a world where anything is possible.  Shown below is that story.

On that cold mid-April Monday afternoon, as 4 year-old Andy Martin patiently sat in his wheelchair at the corner of Hereford and Boylston Street, he began to hear the faint sound of the crowd cheering about two blocks away near the corner of Commonwealth Avenue and Hereford Street.  Then the sound became louder and even louder as the cheers of the crowd had moved up to Newbury Street, another block closer.  Andy became curious to see what the commotion was all about.  He looked down Hereford Street and saw the first of the marathoners to appear.

But wait a minute, what’s this?  Andy thought that his eyes were deceiving him!  But then he suddenly realized what he was seeing was really, in fact, true.  Andy’s jaw dropped and his eyes became as big as saucers!  It wasn’t a runner.  It was a marathon entrant racing in a wheelchair!  Yes, a wheelchair racing in the marathon.  How could this be?  Andy squirmed in his own wheelchair excitedly.  “Mom, Dad, Look!!!” he shouted as he pointed with elation toward the first of the wheelchair entrants to pass on the way to the finish line.  Along came another wheelchair entrant, and then again another and another.  Little Andy’s arms flailed about in jubilation.  He exclaimed, “Dad, I want to do that next year!

I found this to be an incredibly wonderful story.  A few minutes after hearing it, I was speaking with Andy and made mention of the wheelchair marathoners.  Andy’s face immediately lit up, and with incredible enthusiasm, he began telling me his version of the story:  “Ray, you should have seen those wheelchairs.  They went by so fast!  ZOOM, ZOOM, ZOOM.”  He continued to gush with excitement as he told me of his plans to be a wheelchair entrant in the Boston Marathon the following year. 

“I can tell that seeing those wheelchair marathoners have really got you excited about become a wheelchair athlete, yourself“, I said.  “I think that’s fantastic“!  Then I made reference to Andy’s plans to be a wheelchair entrant in the Boston Marathon the following year.  I told Andy that I was kind of hoping that we could cross the finish line together again in 2001.  He thought about that for a moment, and being a bright little lad, he then came up with a solution that would fulfill both of our wishes.  He exclaimed, “Oh! I know!  My dad can hook up a wagon behind my wheelchair and you can get in at the corner!” 

It became clear to me that Andy’s focus would not be deterred.  However, I knew that an undertaking of 26 miles in a wheelchair may perhaps be more than a little bit too ambitious for a 4 year old (at the time).  The B.A.A. enforces a strict minimum age requirement of 18 years old to be an entrant in the Boston Marathon, so I explained to Andy that he would have to wait until he was at least 18 years old.  Andy seemed disappointed about hearing that bit of information.  He considered that for a while and then looked at me and said, “Well, that’s okay.  It’ll give me more time to get ready.

Based on our discussion, it became clear to me that Andy had already set his sights on a goal, and that he is very determined to achieve his mission.  I’ve witnessed Andy’s fierce determination in action, and firmly believed that if it is Andy’s goal to someday be a wheelchair entrant in the Boston Marathon, the dream will become reality.  I envisioned this moment at a Boston Marathon, sometime in the future:

At the corner of Hereford and Boylston Streets, on his way to the finish, a wheelchair entrant approaches, then stops.  A wagon is attached to the back of his wheelchair, and the entrant invites his Children’s Hospital Patient Partner to be placed aboard.  Andy Martin and his Patient
Partner then push off and head down Boylston Street toward the Finish Line together.

For all those waiting for Andy at the corner, it will be a very emotional and powerful moment.  For Andy, his family, the folks at Children’s Hospital Boston and each and every one of us who will have been touched by Andy on his life journey, his monumental achievement will be a source of overwhelming pride and inspiration.

Back to Index

Chapter 7: Marathon 2001 – Heroes

Leave a comment